Skip to content

THE Second Chance

October 10, 2011

When you think America, you don’t think grace. You don’t think of people wanting to lavish grace. And you especially don’t expect it for people that have gone too far. People that have done something they should suffer for forever.

People of the Second Chance is sparking a movement of grace and love and it got me thinking.

Who would I give a second chance to?

Who could I give a second chance to?

Who should I give a second chance to?

Who would I lavish grace on?

I wish the answer was easy, but frankly, there are too many to choose from. There are too many people that earned the need themselves and then there are those that we took what they did and hated.

As I was thinking about who I would give a second chance to I thought of the different reasons to give someone a second chance. I thought of those that were hated. I thought of those that were accused of murder, those that had reason to be reason, if there is a reason.

Then I thought of the people that we lavished hate on that maybe didn’t deserve it. The internet is one of the biggest homes of that. I think of all the pop stars that are constantly hated on. Those that receive hate for what they do for fun and for a living. Undeserving, too many people have been hated because of the internet.

It’s so hard to pick a person that I would lavish grace upon. Some are just too big of a deal that I feel that I could never love them enough to give them grace.

In this predicament, I think of Christ. He chose to give a second chance to rapists, murderers, liars, prostitutes, pimps, brothel owners, abortionists, you, and me.  We think too lightly of the cross. We were so undeserving. We still are so undeserving. But I think that that is the point. Maybe we have screwed up grace, love, and all that jazz. Maybe it’s not about who we think that deserves it, but all who deserve it. I constantly must repent for things I think, say, and do, but God sent His son to die on the cross even though He knew I would be unworthy and ungrateful. He continues to love me and continues to forgive me. We have been part of the greatest second chance in the world. No longer do we have to suffer in a torment forever. We have been saved by His grace.

So I ask you to think of who you would give a second chance to. Is it a celebrity that made the wrong move? A family member that did something that you won’t let go? Is it someone from history? I ask you to think about it and then I ask you to begin practicing second chances. As you do, remember that you, as a Christian, have been a recipient of THE second chance, and lavish grace on those around you, deserving or not.

Feel free to let me know who you would lavish grace on in the comments or email me at jadam93@gmail.com. Also, if you want to know how you can acquire of THE second chance, PLEASE let one of us know!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. John permalink
    October 10, 2011 8:06 pm

    Excellent reading….thanks!

  2. October 10, 2011 10:06 pm

    Thank you! 🙂

  3. Vickie Sampson permalink
    October 10, 2011 10:18 pm

    You bring encouragement to me! So glad you are my son’s friend. I wish there were a solid group of young people influence young people. We have us “older” people who the younger think we don’t know much and can’t relate in reality we can! There’s nothing new under the sun, sin is sin, temptation is temptation. The form in which it comes to us though has changed over the years, but we can definitely relate. It would just be great if our younger generation would rise up and be as firm in their faith and as vocal as you are! Thanks Adam!

Leave a Reply

