Skip to content

Joy is a New Keytar

October 13, 2011

Credit to Miss Vanessa Allen for the editing

This month I purchased a keytar. I readily admit that it’s probably the most frivolous purchase I’ve made ever in my life. Ever. It also happens to be one of the best.

Financial stewardship is something I take very seriously. Some people would say that “financial stewardship” is just my code word for “stingy,” and in a way, they’d be right. I don’t like to spend, whether it be on myself or on others. Parting with money isn’t easy for me, and I’d like to say it’s because I don’t want to see God’s blessing going to waste, but more often it’s my love of money preventing me.

The Bible does call us to stewardship– to actively working to increase the blessings the Lord has given us, but too often Christians use the word stewardship in exactly the opposite direction. In the parable of the talents, it isn’t the servant who buried his talent in the ground that the Master praised; He praised the servant who went and put his talent to work.

The Christian life isn’t an odious burden. It’s not something we just have to bear through this present life until someday we receive our reward. We have a relationship with the eternal God. We have joy. In fact, God pours out joy for us. To be sure, there are times of suffering, but even that is to be counted as joy!

So how does all of this tie back to my purchase of a keytar? Not very well, I must admit. But music is one of the gifts that God has granted to humanity, and now I have the means to make music. That’s a gift of joy from God to me. But then, it’s all joy, isn’t it?

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 13, 2011 9:14 pm

    Adam- that is really cool! Ethan would like to hear you play it. You might have to “vlog” a song!

Leave a Reply

