Skip to content

We Like to Steal Ideas!

October 16, 2011

Hey guys, Tim here, I’ll be filling in for Adam B. because he was feeling too lazy to write the Sunday post this week.  More on that later.  For now, I present to you a numbered list.  Why?  Because I’m in charge today and I like numbered lists, that’s why!

1. Stealing Ideas Part the First – Punishments.  Quick background: so there are these guys who call themselves the Vlogbrothers.  Their names are John and Hank Green, they’re brothers, and they’re pretty great people.  Anyway, they take turns making videos three times a week in a system not entirely unlike our blogging schedule here, and if one of them misses their assigned day to make a video, they must undergo a punishment decided upon by their viewers.  Adam B. and I thought it would be fun to implement a similar system at Singular Spectrum (we didn’t ask Swensen, mostly because he already missed the deadline on a post and I was hoping to retroactively slam him, but Adam B. vetoed my evil schemes).  The idea is simple: if one of us hasn’t posted our scheduled post by 11:59 PM official blog time, we’ll let you guys know that it’s time for a punishment, and you give us your ideas.  It can be anything as crazy or wacky as you want as long as it isn’t terribly expensive (we’re all poor college students) and it doesn’t require sustaining injuries.  Have fun with it!

2. Stealing Ideas Part the Second – Spectrum Perspectives.  As stated in the title of this post, we like to take other people’s ideas and use them to keep our blog running (Adam B. prefers the term “adapting” but that’s just semantics).  One way that such idea adapting can help make this blog better is Spectrum Perspectives, where you readers offer topics for the Adams and I to briefly address in a collaborative post on Sundays.  Unfortunately, we can’t take any ideas to fuel Spectrum Perspectives if you don’t give us any.  That’s where you come in: please leave a comment on one of our Twitter or Facebook profiles or on any of our Sunday posts letting us know what topic you’d like us to discuss and we will snap it up eagerly and discuss away.  Seriously, folks, we would really love to get some topics.  Adam B. might even cry.

3. I just really like lists to have multiples of three or five, so I had to add another point.

Let’s see, time to double check my checklist to see if the post is finished… Write intro, check.  Make numbered list, check.  Announce punishments, check.  Announce our dire need for SP topics, check.  Add third point to avoid OCD flareup, check.  Doublecheck checklist, check.  Done and done.  Time to turn things back over to the Adams.  See you guys on Wednesday!

– Tim N.

EDIT: Ah!  I forgot to mention Adam’s laziness a second time!  How was that not on my checklist?  How did I not notice when I was doublechecking my checklist?  Without that, the whole post falls apart!  Of all the terrible things that could happen this is THE.  WORST.  POSSIBLE.  THING!  Okay, yeah, I’m done making blatant references to yesterday’s episode of MLP:FiM now.  Goodnight, all!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2011 11:05 pm

    Rude.

  2. October 16, 2011 11:28 pm

    Hey. You didn’t mention that the idea for vlog brothers thievery was mine. I must keep my reputation for being original by being unoriginal intact.

  3. Tim's Dad permalink
    October 17, 2011 10:18 am

    So, I think that an appropriate punishment for the Adams missing their respective deadlines might be to…cut down the tallest tree in the foretst…with a herring! (Sorry, I couldn’t resist, given the theme of the post…) But seriously, how about they have to watch one episode of Tim’s beloved pony show and do a joint blog about the experience? (Cue evil laughter: Bwa ha ha ha!) 😉

    • October 18, 2011 5:39 pm

      I approve of this punishment on one condition: that I get to pick the episode. Mwahahahaha!

  4. October 17, 2011 10:30 am

    So. . . are you also going to have punishments for when you forget to mention something you were supposed to, even after double-checking? 😉

  5. October 17, 2011 2:56 pm

    be careful with the punishments, you dont want this blog to become an obligation or monotonous. its okay to take a break sometimes.

    you guys have permission to steal from me at anytime. i am going to be reformatting and reorganizing my blog here in the near future, so steal away while you can.

    • October 17, 2011 4:07 pm

      Honestly, the punishments will make it easier for me to forgive myself for missing a blog. Besides, if you look at some of the stuff the VlogBrothers have had to do, there’s nothing boring about it.

      • October 18, 2011 5:41 pm

        Absolutely. The whole idea of the punishments is to keep them lighthearted and fun, just to add a little flavor to the blog. That way if we do get a little bored we can just skip a post and find out what crazy task awaits us. 😀

  6. October 17, 2011 3:03 pm

    idea: why dont you have sub-bloggers–people who substitute for you guys when you are tired, stressed, or busy. Jon Acuff has guest-posts on his blog at SCL. he has become so busy, he has a hard time keeping a blog post every day, so he has other people write guest posts. just a thought. steal from him.

    • October 17, 2011 4:06 pm

      Actually, Tim and I are currently looking for guest-bloggers for the month of November. We’re gonna be busy with Nano. If you’d like to write a post or two, we’d love to have it.

      • October 17, 2011 4:14 pm

        Just let me know. Adam has my contact stuff. I am sure you would do this anyway, but it would be a good idea to read the post before publishing.

      • October 18, 2011 8:00 am

        You guys are NaNoers as well? Awesome!

      • October 18, 2011 5:39 pm

        That’s right! I’m a third-time veteran, but it’s B’s first attempt. I predict a win out of the big guy. We should buddy up over on the NaNo site!

      • October 21, 2011 10:49 am

        Veteran here too. We most definitely should buddy-up, once they get the buddies feature working. 😛 I’m KathrineROID on NaNo forums. You guys?

        Speaking of punishments… what happens if you fail NaNo? 😉

Leave a Reply

