Skip to content

New Stuff November

October 25, 2011

Today’s post was supposed to be about the results of this post, but, strangely enough, nobody reacted to me in a manner all that incredulous. I came away from the experience with no good stories to tell; maybe that’s a story in itself. None of you really wanted to hear about that anyways, so instead I’m going to talk about something I want you all to do with me. I am christening this next month, “The Month of New Stuff.” The ambiguity of the name is purposeful.

So often we get sucked into the routine. We find ourselves waking up in the morning, doing some stuff, not doing some stuff, going to bed, and then waking up the next morning to do the same stuff over again. That’s a boring way to live life.

This November, even if it’s just for November, I’m challenging you to do something new. There’s a million things (or at least 2) that I’ve always (or at least for a few months) wanted to do, but I’ve never been able to find the time for that stuff. This month I’m making the time. I’m going to go and do new stuff when I’d normally be doing nothing at all. You should, too.

You’ll regret it someday if you don’t make time now to learn underwater basket-weaving like you’ve always wanted. The fact that you never got around to sculpting a likeness of Michelangelo’s David out of peanut butter will haunt you some day. There is no project too fantastic for The Month of New Stuff.

But The Month of New Stuff isn’t just for big projects; it encompasses far more than that. Have you ever wanted to know what it feels like to wear all of your clothing backwards for long periods of time? Have you ever wanted to know what it feels like to be nocturnal? Is the idea of eating no foods that start with the letter “B” vaguely appealing to you? The Month of New Stuff is perfect for lifestyle changes, too.

The great thing about The Month of New Stuff is its limited period. You can try something for a month, and then, if you don’t like it, you can go back to your old, boring life. But if somebody asks you why you’re behaving strangely, you have a ready-made excuse: you can tell them about The Month of New Stuff. Who knows, maybe they’ll convert.

Of course many of these examples are rather extreme, but that doesn’t lessen the value of The Month of New Stuff. I deeply believe that humans can live much richer, pleasanter lives when freed from the bonds of the routine. So do some new stuff next month. It doesn’t have to be learning the art of alligator-wrestling, but it could be if you wanted.

Here are my plans for November:

  • I plan to meet at least one new person every day. I might do this now, but if so, it’s not intentional enough.
  • NaNoWriMo
  • No-Shave November
  • Possibly, I might perhaps maybe get a small haircut?
  • Learn to bicycle kick
  • Pray intentionally. I have a more detailed plan for this one, but that’s a subject for a whole post by itself.

That’s pretty much the list for now. Will you join me? Will you make at least one month of this year a break from routine– an opportunity to break down your comfort zones?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2011 9:00 pm

    I was waiting for NaNoWriMo to show up in this post. 😉 For me, however, NaNo is nothin’ new. But I take the challenge.

    ~Write/call/something a friend every day (I’m currently pretty bad at keeping up with people. 😦 )
    ~Submit a short story to a magazine (*takes deep breath* *dives in*)

    Yeah, only two, but I am doing NaNoWriMo as well.

  2. October 26, 2011 12:01 pm

    we should all be friends on NaNo. find me: akeeton2008

Leave a Reply

