Skip to content

Where the Heart is

November 1, 2011

I never thought I’d be writing this post. I thought that I’d be fine. In a way I am fine, but that’s beside the point right now: I miss my family terribly.

I’m independent. I don’t need any person in my life to make me happy. Those are the lies I told myself as I left for college. I’ve already been away from my family for two whole summers; this will be no different. It is different.

Why is it different? I’m not completely sure. Maybe it’s the fact that here I can’t just drive home for the weekend. I didn’t do that very much at Lake Ann, but I could have if I so wished. Maybe it’s the fact that even when I was away from my family at Lake Ann, I was still surrounded by family; that’s an advantage of being God’s adopted son. Maybe it’s the weather. It has a larger effect than you’d think. (I’m typing this barefoot in shorts and a t-shirt, and I couldn’t be more comfortable.

Whatever the cause, it’s my family that I miss– it’s my home. As nice as Auburn and Alabama is, it’s not home to me. I’m not sure it ever can be.

Dad, Mom, Anna, Joel, Abby and Jesse, I miss you, and I love you. I’m coming home in less than a month, but I wish it were now. God once again showed his immense love for me by the family in which he put me. I can only pray that I will somehow be as much of a blessing to you as you are to me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2011 9:13 pm

    So now you’ve turned your mom into a blubbering mess! It makes me so very glad to hear you say this, but sad too, because I understand. Growing up is hard and watching your kids grow up is even harder. A small piece of my heart was left with you when your dad and I said good-bye to you in Alabama. We are so proud of you and are thankful for the opportunity to be your parents. We know God has placed you at Auburn for now and we don’t know what the future will bring, but we are confident that He will always lead and guide you if you let Him. He loves you so much more than us, so we trust Him to take good care of you.

    You are loved and missed- Our home isn’t the same without you. I’m counting down the days until Thanksgiving break and then Christmas! And by the way, I know that you are fine! Thanks for writing this post- I needed a good cry 🙂

  2. November 2, 2011 8:20 am

    Ok you two! you have now succeeded in making me cry!

Leave a Reply

