Skip to content

Not so Unique

November 3, 2011

I’m currently in the midst of a marathon studying session, but I’m taking a break to write this. That’s how much I love all of you. Since I have no actual inspiration at the moment, I’ll just write a bit about the stuff I’m studying.

I’m currently scarfing down a few weeks worth of reading from my world history text-book. It’s a great reminder that all of this is no more than a breath on the wind.

”And he made from one man every nation of mankind to live on all the face of the earth, having determined allotted periods and the boundaries of their dwelling place.”
(Acts 17:26 ESV)

One of my vices is an obsession with politics. It’s more depressing than anything else on Earth, yet I keep coming back to it. I find myself genuinely upset with the bull-headed stupidity of our leaders. I find myself wishing that I was in charge so that I could fix things, so that I could make this a good place to live.

I shouldn’t worry so much. All of this is part of God’s design. The United States have only been around for two-hundred-some years. The Roman Empire lasted almost a millennium and a half. There’s nothing that makes the United States unique in the grand scheme of things. It’s just another state; maybe it’s better than most, but it’s only temporary, and that’s God’s plan.

For His plans are not our plans.

“Can you find out the deep things of God?
Can you find out the limit of the Almighty?”
(Job 11:7 ESV)

All things work together for His purpose, whether they work together for my purpose or not.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 4, 2011 8:36 am

    Acts 17 when I first read this I was stricken with “wow.” Truly God has planned everything and everyone of us down to the grains of sand. I would like to shake some people and pour that into their “mindless brains.

    btw; if you are running for President can I be your VP?

Leave a Reply

