Skip to content

Here I Am, Age 18

November 14, 2011

Ever since I read “Do Hard Things” by Alex and Brett Harris when I was 15, I have wanted to be used by God in HUGE ways. I want to make a difference so bad, but here at age 18, in my last year and a half of teen years, what have I done? I always picture myself doing big things now, and hardly ever in my later years. My passion is and always has been passionate teens defying the impossible and making a difference NOW in their teen years, but what have I done? I haven’t done enough in the department of change that I thought I would and still want to do.

I Need Your Help:

I really want and need prayer. I want more than anything to be an example of God using a teen to make a difference and be a change. I want to be able to look back when I am older and say, “God used me there in huge ways.” I need your prayers that God would use me in HIS awesome ways and that somehow God would do things through me in my last year and a half as a teenager. I have so many people that believe in me, but some days I feel like I still haven’t done the things they believe I can do. I want to be the change and the difference. I want to be more than the guy behind the computer screen writing about change and stirring up my readers. I enjoy riling people up for the cause of Christ and the “UMPH” I know we can put into our lives, but I want to be more than that. I want to be the guy that does what he riles others to do and think. I want to be more of an activist and less of a thinkivist. So here I am, age 18, and I am ready to change the world. Hardcore.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2011 7:30 am

    Your excitement to spread the word will change people even if you don’t realize it. God wants people who have a heart for him with an enthusiasm to boot. Attitude can be used far more than genius.

  2. November 15, 2011 12:40 am

    Adam, you think you have not done enough in the department of change, take a look at your blog posts, the very first post I read of yours was so INSPIRING. YOU ARE making a difference just with yor regular blogs. I am 31 and i have yet to figure out what he put me here for, he has blessed you with a talent for writing and whether you realise it or not you are making the difference by doing JUST THAT … WRITING

    • November 15, 2011 2:19 am

      THANK YOU SO MUCH! πŸ™‚ You are making a difference, one encouraging comment at a time! πŸ™‚

  3. Tim's Dad permalink
    November 15, 2011 10:17 am

    Adam, I have wanted to accomplish great things for God in my life since I was young, and I can really relate to your anguish in evaluating yourself and not seeing the kind and quantity of “results” that you had hoped to have by now. I just want to encourage you that God’s ways are not our ways, His thoughts are not our thoughts. He knows the plans he has for you (and me). I have found that most of my desires to do something “BIG” and “important” have most often (though not always) been gently set aside in favor of the more mundane (and often far more difficult) opportunity to be faithful in the “small” things he has placed before me to do. “Do not despise the day of small beginnings.” Be faithful in the small things and he will give you the greater things in his perfect time. Think about Joseph, Moses and David. They all endured looong times of apparent uselessness, pain and loss, yet all of it was shaping their character and their walk with God so that they could be the instruments of God to do great things…in his time. All this to say: Keep loving God with all your heart, keep faithfully serving him in the small things he gives you and he will use you greatly in his time. I love you, brother!

    • November 18, 2011 12:08 am

      Thank you Mr. Newton. This really encouraged me. I find myself in Adam’s situation very often, too.

Leave a Reply

