Skip to content

Responsibilty, Freedom and College Life

November 18, 2011

Yes, yes, I realize that I didn’t post Tuesday. Yes, I have a punishment coming my way. Yes, you will get a chance to give suggestions for it. Start thinking.

Fact is this has been a tough week for me. I can see the break coming; it’s almost in my grasp, but I’m not there, yet. Well, now I basically am. College isn’t easy. That might seem like an obvious statement, and I probably would have told anybody that asked that I didn’t expect college to be easy, but the fact remains: there have been some weeks where it’s eaten me alive.

This is probably the negative side of homeschooling. Sure, I understand almost any subject on a deeper level than the average public school kid. I had the distinct advantage of not just being able to go at my own pace but also, to some extent, being able to choose my curriculum.

I didn’t learn the most important thing that homeschooling should have taught me: time management. I was basically self-taught from Junior High on up. You’d think I would have learned some self-control. You’d think I wouldn’t be up until 1 AM the night before every test cramming. You’d think I could do better than the average college student. If you thought that, you would be wrong.

I had the tremendous opportunity to learn responsibility at an earlier age than most people. I chose to exercise my freedom in the worst (well, not really the worst) possible way. I chose to go play basketball when I should have been doing homework. I chose to be writing my own projects when I needed to be working on essays for school. I chose to relax and enjoy Christmas break when I should have been doing research on colleges and scholarships. Now I pay the price.

There’s a strong correlation here between the freedom I was given as a homeschooled child and the freedom we’re given as the adopted sons of God. First of all, in both it was something chosen for us by a power above us. I had no say in whether I would be homeschooled. Ultimately, I have no say in whether I’m adopted or not. But it’s all for my benefit. Personally, I loved being homeschooled, but I know of many who absolutely hate it. Stop. Don’t fight with your parents about this. Believe it or not, they almost always know what’s best for you better than you do.

As a Christian, I am no longer bound by a moral law. I have peace with God regardless. Does that mean I should go out and have drunken orgies every Friday night? Should I sin so that grace can abound all the more? No. It’s exactly the same with homeschooling.

Well, I have no elegant way of wrapping this post up, and it needs to get posted sometime in the next two minutes so…

The end.

Edit: I clicked the “publish” button on this post before the deadline, but for some reason WordPress only saved it as a draft. I didn’t realize this until it was already too late. So no, I won’t take another punishment for this post. Well, unless it’s a really really really good idea– like making me write a romantic limerick to a celebrity and doing a dramatic reading for the blog or something. I would do that.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2011 8:27 pm

    You know, Adam, if you want to do a dramatic reading of that romantic limerick you wrote to Rebecca Black, you can just do it. You don’t have to get us to label it a punishment for you. 😉

  2. November 29, 2011 10:38 am

    “Sure, I understand almost any subject on a deeper level than the average public school kid.”

    Hey now! Be careful saying stuff like this! I found this REALLY offensive, bro. Just sayin’. (I’m trying to watch your back.)

    • December 1, 2011 11:44 am

      Adam Keeton- Thanks for watching my son’s back 🙂 I thought the same thing when I read it!

Leave a Reply

