Skip to content

Christmas Music

November 19, 2011

So they’ve started phasing in the Christmas music at the store where I work, which in this case means that in any given ten minute span, you might here “Let It Snow” and “White Christmas” or “Everybody Was Kung-Fu Fighting” and “Ballroom Blitz”, probably a mixture thereof.  And for some reason, you’re practically guaranteed to hear “The Christmas Song” (you know, “chestnuts roasting on an open fire…”) if you’re in the store for more than ten minutes or so.  I know that it’s been said many times many ways, but do we have to play all of them in a row?  Yeesh.  Anyway, with all of the Christmas music starting up, I spend a lot of time at work thinking about the Christmas songs that I love but that they never play, so I thought I’d tell you all about a few of them as my way of spreading a little early Christmas cheer.  Enjoy!

1. “This is Christmas” by Curt Smith.  I first heard this song in an episode of Psych (a very funny TV show, for those who don’t know), and immediately after the episode ended I sought it out on iTunes and bought it.  This is one of the most heartfelt, heartwarming Christmas songs I’ve ever heard, and every time I listen to it I can’t help but feel grateful for my amazing family.  Even when life changes and peace seems hard to find, I know that with them I’m home.

2. “Over the Hills and Everywhere” EP by Seabird.  Sometimes I don’t like it when bands rearrange well-known songs; it just feels so weird and unfamiliar, like your best friend showed up to your house wearing a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles mask.  With these seven beloved Christmas carols, though, Seabird shows their incredible skill by totally revamping the music and making it totally enjoyable, even irresistible.  From the peppy, folky “Go Tell It On the Mountain” to the gentle rising and falling of “Angels We Have Heard and High”, each arrangement is a complete treat.  You can find five of the songs here and the other two here (because Grooveshark is kind of dumb).

I hope these songs lift your heart and please your ears, and I hope you have a great Thanksgiving week.  See you on Wednesday!

 

Leave a Reply

