Skip to content

Your Everything (Catherine)

November 29, 2011

At the beginning of this month, I solicited posts from two people. The first of them was Tek, and you’ve already been challenged by his words. This second is a young lady that I’ve only had the privilege of meeting in person once and very briefly at that. However, since then (and maybe before then, too, if I remember correctly) I have spoken to her through the wonderful medium of facebook. Someday, I hope to sit down with her, buy her a coffee or her beverage of choice, and just chat for a while. I know that it would be an experience I’d enjoy immensely.

Please enjoy the immense perceptiveness  and truth in this post by the delightful Miss Catherine.


If I could give you anything, what would you ask of me?

I’m sure that many material things came to your mind first; a new computer, iPod, or wardrobe, maybe? I’m not going to put you down for thinking of those things first; I understand the battle to own your senses rather than be owned by them. While materialistic thinking is futile, I didn’t decide to write about that today.

But what came to your mind after those tangible things? Or, better, what would come to your mind if I asked you to tell me what intangible thing you need? Comfort? Encouragement? Help? Friendship?

I’ve been thinking lately about where I go to have my desires fulfilled. I go to my friends to stave off loneliness, I entertain myself with various things to find some small enjoyments, I spend time with my family to feel a bond of fellowship and trust like most people wish to have. It struck me, though, that I seldom go to God for fulfillment.

I usually try to be self-sufficient. I’m the eldest child in my family. It comes naturally to me to do my own things my own way. Maybe you’re similar; not an eldest child, but used to doing things your own way. Maybe you’re exactly like me and selfishness is a struggle. Maybe you’ve got this selfishness-thing completely covered and you’re wondering why you should continue reading…but whatever your case as compared to mine, I’m sure we both find it difficult to go to God and admit that we don’t have all that we need.

I know that, like me, you probably work to take care of yourself as much as you can before you ask God for help. You don’t mean it this way, but God is something of a last resort measure as you go through your days. It’s funny how distant He becomes when you have Him listed only on the “Emergency Numbers” list by the refrigerator, so to speak.

And you feel that distance when you’re lonely. You feel it when you desire enjoyment. You feel it when you ache for that bond of trust and fellowship. No matter the need, you have probably come to a point where you thought briefly, “God should be my…” (You fill in the blank) but you let the thought roll over you instead of trying to seek your fulfillment in Him. I’m not trying to beat you up for not seeking God like you should – don’t think that, please. This guilty writer can’t judge. I have another goal in mind for this blog post.

Do you remember my first question? “If I could give you anything, what would you ask of me?” Did you ever think that God might be asking you the same question every time you desire something? Only, I believe that since He is all-powerful and all-knowing, he would phrase it something more like, “Since all things are in My power, I can give you anything. What would you ask of Me?”

That puts things in a somewhat different perspective, doesn’t it? Since God is Lord over all things, He can give us anything. (We know that he won’t give us all things that we ask for because sometimes He knows better what we need, but I don’t want to digress too far from my point, so I won’t follow that subject further.) Did you know that God wants us to ask Him for the things we desire? Not just the material things – He promised to provide those for us – but the things we desire dearly. Things like comfort…encouragement…help…or friendship.

“Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.” (Psalm 37:4) The promise in that verse is conditional, of course. But think about it; if you delight yourself in God – if He is the source of all your love and joy – then what would you desire? Probably not a new car, but more of the One you delight in.

In writing this blog post, I did have a wish to give you something to take with you after you go, but I cannot give you the gift I would wish for you more than anything. You have to choose to receive it. I would want you to take the knowledge that God is aware of your heart and what it desires…and that He wants to have that place in your heart so that He can fulfill it Himself.

Since God can be your everything, won’t you ask Him to be?

Psalm 73:25-26
“Whom have I in heaven but You? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides You. My heart and my flesh may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 29, 2011 11:20 pm

    Matthew 7:7-12

Leave a Reply

