Skip to content

Random Mind Splatter from the Month of November

December 6, 2011

Wow. Here I sit almost a week after completing quite possibly the craziest month of my life in NaNoWriMo, and I still can’t wrap my head around the fact that I really managed to get 50K words down onto paper or its electronic analog; I can’t in good conscience call it a story, but there’s a 50K word document on my computer now, and my little bar thingy on the NaNo site is blue. Or is it purple? Anyways here’s a quick preview list of some stuff about NaNo and the month of November in general because I’m too lazy and out of it with Finals week to actually write an internally consistent post. You’ll probably hear more about this from me later, but maybe you won’t. I don’t really know.

  1. NaNoWriMo is much more intimidating on the front end than the back end. Look at how I was writing the first few weeks. Look at how abysmal my wordcount is. Look how bad it is even during the end of the third week up through the beginning of the fourth. The fact remains: somehow I still finished, and I don’t even think my grades on Finals have suffered all that much from the whole thing. So the big life lesson from this is that even if you fall really really far behind your deadline, you can still catch up, so don’t worry too much about procrastination. Lovely lesson, isn’t it?
  2. Public transportation might be the best place in the world to write. The benefits are numerous. First there is no wifi, so you lovely hoards of internet people can’t distract me from the task I set myself. Secondly, on public transportation there are people all around you, but they aren’t intruding themselves into your space. When you run out of ideas, you can simply look around you and find all sorts of little pieces of inspiration.
  3. This was probably the biggest waste of a month I’ll ever make.
  4. It’s possible to get fifty bucks from the airline you’re flying on by doing something that annoys them. More on this one in another post. It’s a good story, and I’m not sure I come out looking all that great in it.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

