Skip to content

BroNYCon

December 7, 2011

So I have some really, really exciting news.  It’s probably not going to be nearly as exciting for most of you as it is for me because 1.) it’s news about something I’m going to do that most of you won’t and 2.) most of you aren’t bronies, but I’ll ask you kindly to bear with me anyway because 1.) it’s my day to post and I can’t really think about anything but this exciting news right now and 2.) it’s still a really cool thing even if you are a non-brony person who isn’t going to do it.  So here we go!

The first question on your mind is probably, “So what is this thing about which you’re so excited, Tim?”   It could also be, “Where are my keys?” or “How did I get to this webpage?” but I can’t really help you with those so I’ll answer the first one.  This thing is called BroNYCon, and it is a convention for bronies (fans of the cartoon My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic) in New York City (hence the weird capitalization of the name) that takes place in exactly one month from today and to which I  just RSVP’d last night (hence the inability to concentrate on anything else).  For those of you who didn’t already know, yes, I do watch the most recent My Little Pony cartoon (you can read about that on my old blog if you want to know more) and when I found out about this convention I thought, “That would be really fun, but there’s no way I could do it”.  Then I realized: who says that there’s no way I could do it?  Maybe there is!

So I started looking through my options and I realized that I budget myself a little money out of my paycheck every week for personal expenses like books and music and it hit me – if I stopped using that money for books and music and such and pooled it all together I would have more than enough to go to BroNYCon.  I ran a quick pro/con analysis of this approach:

Cons: I won’t be able to buy any new books or music for myself until sometime next July.  That’s pretty much the only con.

Pros: THE CON (pun intended)!  Enumerated, that comes out to… 1.) Amazing Guests.  Two of the voice actresses from the show are going to be there, including the lady who voices both of my two favorite characters, Andrea Libman.  Not only that, but the hosts of my favorite podcast, Chef Sandy and Apple Cider of Bronyville, are going to be there and they’re going to interview the fantastic Daniel Ingram, songwriter for the show, via Skype at the con.  2.) New York City.  It’s one of the great cities of our nation, and I love to travel and see new things but don’t get the opportunity very often, so that’s a huge pro for me.  3.) My first time flying.  That’s right, I’ve never been in a plane before but I’ve always wanted to, and going to BroNYCon provides me with the opportunity to take to the skies for the first time ever!  4.) It’s a convention.  I’m a nerd and I’m not ashamed to admit it, and as a nerd I’ve always wanted to go to a convention.  I never took the possibility seriously, though, partly because ComicCon and VidCon (the other two I’d like to attend someday) are both in California and it just seemed like a big, intimidating, expensive proposition.  So going to a convention full of fellow bronies will be a ton of fun.  5.) Tek is going to be there.  I’ve known Tek for about nine months now, but I’ve never had the opportunity to meet him in person, so when I found out that he was going to attend BroNYCon as the representative for Equestria Daily, I knew I had to find a way to go.  What better place to finally meet up with my best brony friend than at BroNYCon in January?

The choice was pretty obvious to me, so I stopped buying random extra stuff, kept a close eye on my bank account, and last night I did what I thought just a few weeks ago would be totally impossible and signed up for BroNYCon.  I thrive on trying new things and going on adventures, and this promises to be one of the most incredible adventures of my life so far, so now I think you can understand my unbridled excitment (pun also intended).  I’m so glad that I didn’t just give up on the idea because it seemed unlikely at the time, and I’d encourage you to do the same.  If you have a big thing that you’d like to do, don’t assume that you can’t, look for ways that you can!  Maybe it’ll turn out to be outside of your reach after all (I’ve had plenty of dreams like that, believe me), but if you don’t give it your best shot before you give up on it you’ll never know if you could have been a part of something really, really exciting.  So whatever your BroNYCon is, stick with it, my friends.  I hope there’s some exciting news waiting for you in the near future, too.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

