Skip to content

A Living Sacrifice

December 13, 2011

For the last several weeks I’ve been involved in an all out war with an unknown foe preventing my computer from functioning in the manner it should. I’ve tried everything from simple virus scans to reformatting the Windows partition. It’s still not working entirely correctly.

Today I found myself growing frustrated with the whole diagnostic and repair process. I found myself with an extreme issue of focus: specifically, I was focusing on those ways in which my life isn’t perfect rather than the ways I am blessed beyond anything I could ever deserve.

I know I’ve talked about this before, but we Americans live in an era and culture of unprecedented plenty. This computer with all of its issues is still better than anything anybody had a hundred years ago. It probably still performs better than most computers from even ten years ago. Yet I have the gall to complain that it isn’t living up to my lofty standards?

In parts of the world, people still live in poverty. In some places, people still don’t get enough to eat. For some, even drinking water is taking a risk of contracting a deadly illness. And I sit here complaining about my computer.

How does my belief in a God who calls us to love jive with my living of a lifestyle much of the world can’t even imagine? How can I sit here in this comfortable chair while there is so much suffering still?

Can I continue to live the life I live now in view not just of others lack but in view of Christ’s sacrifice on the cross?

I hope not. God teach me to be a living sacrifice.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 14, 2011 8:31 am

    Your perspective is admirable.

Leave a Reply

