Skip to content

The Lazy Christian – A Guest Post from Jonathan Newton

December 14, 2011

Last week, my younger brother Jonathan asked if he could write up a post for one of my spots here on Singular Spectrum because there have been some things on his mind that he’s wanted to tell people about for a while.  I told him I’d be happy to host his musings, and now I am proud to present the first ever guest post from my little bro, a heartfelt and earnest look at what it means to follow God with all of your heart.  Prepare to be both challenged and encouraged.

So for a while now I have been thinking about how lazy I am and what has been going on in America in general with laziness. But specifically what about the lazy Christian? Being home schooled all my life has been a wonderful blessing but also in other ways a really hard trial to overcome. Mainly in the fact that I chose how to spend my time, when to do my school work, and how hard I worked at it. For the most part I had done pretty well with it, worked hard, and gotten good grades (not just because my teacher is my mom.) But this year I am a senior and I found I have let myself slip drastically in the wrong direction.

I have been lackadaisical in my actual work and have fallen behind not just in my school but in my walk with God. So a little while ago I decided to change the way I lived my life, I came to the realization that I didn’t even really want to change because I liked living the way I was because it was easy. In the long run though it came back and bugged me, I didn’t feel happy and fulfilled because I wasn’t accepting God’s life style he calls us all to and I was just telling him by living that way that I was better off with what the world has to offer. I think it’s more fun to lollygag around watching useless things, playing useless games, and just wasting time living a generally useless life! It is so empty!

I still struggle with this because it is hard to break a habit of a lazy life style. But there are a couple of things in the Bible and lyrics by some artists that hit the nail on the head. Of course the Bible is what we should live by but I also believe that God gives words to people that help us live more according to what God says. I want to start with the Bible verses. The one that comes to mind first when I think of the struggle with being lazy is James 4: 17. It says “Anyone, then, who knows the good he ought to do and doesn’t do it, sins.” So there you go, you are blatantly sinning before God by not doing what you know you are supposed to do! This second verse is more of a get-up-and-start-going verse: John 14:12-14, “I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Son may bring glory to the Father. You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.” So God will give you the strength to start turning around your life and my life if we ask him to help us do it! To me that is very encouraging to think about: God, the creator of the universe, will help us little humans to do the things he has in store for us to do!

Recently I read “Forgotten God” by Francis Chan, where he talks about the Holy Spirit and why God has given Him to us. I highly recommend that you read it for yourself because it is a great book and it makes you think about a lot of great things. But the thing that I think about from “Forgotten God” when it comes to this is that the Holy Spirit is our mediator and, in a loose sense of the word, a gift, and he is here to help us accomplish what God has for us, which is not sitting by idly and wasting time doing nothing with our lives. In the words of Relient K, “we’ve gotta break the cycle of the double edged sword/ of being lazy and being bored/ we just want more and more and more until it’s all we can afford/ to keep our eyes open for just one more day…” because there is more to life than that! God gave us our life to glorify Him so lets stop sitting around being lazy and bored until it IS all we can afford to keep your eyes open for just one more day!

As believers we can also pray for each other, so right now I want to pray for us as a body of Christ. “Father, please forgive those of us who have been lacking in the area of living for you and like you. Please give us the strength now to break this cycle we have fallen into, God, save us and get us back on your track to doing what you have for each one of your carefully designed children to do. Help us change the world by starting here with you and us and give us the perseverance to break this hold on our lives and to live with reckless abandon for you and only you, God. In your name I pray, amen.” And please continue to pray for each other and build the Body of Christ up! God bless.

Your loving brother in Christ,

Jon Newton.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2011 9:27 pm

    Maybe you should ask your brother to be a regular on this blog. Good work.

  2. January 9, 2012 6:18 pm

    God has plans for you, Jonathan. Always encouraging to hear a young heart reaching towards God. It gives me hope and motivates me to keep working in the faith. Thank you, and may God bless you richly as He continues to use you.

  3. January 23, 2012 6:26 pm

    Jonathan, thank you very much for your words of encouragement. You presented this in a clear and kind way, although it is a sobering subject to discuss. I hope that this challenges others who read in the same way it has challenged me. Hold fast to God – He’s already using you to glorify His name!

Leave a Reply

