Skip to content

That Silent Night

December 23, 2011

I find the Christmas season tremendously enchanting. With snow falling, festive lights shining, my favorite music of all time, and my favorite people, this is easily my favorite holiday. I love all the things that come with Christmas: the movies, the music, the food, and family. I find this all so much fun, but take it all away and sometimes the Christmas season just doesn’t feel like Christmas. I find myself, even as a Christian, falling into a trap of forgetting the point. I know, I know, this message is preached a thousand times during this season, but we should always be reminded.

Christmas isn’t about all the wonderful items I mentioned above. It feels like it is, but we are far from it.

Before the beginning of time, a plan was created for the salvation of creation. There, before the world was created, our salvation was being planned by a holy God. Roughly 2,000 years ago a sweet baby was born in a nasty little manger in a nasty little stable. Our king lay in a feed trough so that one day He may die for us wretched sinners. That baby, was destined for death. His whole life lead to a certain point, a point that would change all Christians lives. That baby, born miraculously from a virgin, was our saving grace. So in a way, this holiday is the intro to Easter. You see, Christmas makes way for Easter. Without a “Christmas” there would be no “Easter.”

On that silent night, long ago, a baby was born to be beaten, bruised, and neglected for those that beat, bruised, and neglected Him. That, is the true reason we should love Christmas. All that is all dandy and nice, but without the beauty of a Savior there would be no hope, and no reason to be cheerful this time of year. Christ is our hope and our salvation. Jesus is the reason for the season and the reason I am alive. Everything I am can be found in Him. Merry Christmas, I love you all. I pray that your holiday season is filled with the love of Christ and the hope this season reminds us of.

“To look back and think that
This baby would one day save me
In the hope that what You did
That you were born so I might live
To look back and think that
This baby would one day save me

And I, I celebrate the day
That You were born to die
So I could one day pray for You to save my life”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Brent (Chefy) Swensen permalink
    December 23, 2011 10:50 pm

    Bethlehem Gathering

    Little baby, softly sleeping,
    Precious Child born tonight,
    In the soft light of this stable
    You have come to give us life.

    Humble people gather ‘round You,
    Wond’ring at the way You’ve come.
    The Almighty, our Messiah,
    In a manger safe and warm.

    Broken people, broken promises
    Broken hearts, and broken dreams
    These our only gifts to bring to you
    Broken lives on bended knees.
    We believe that You’re Messiah,
    Perfect Lamb that’s born to die
    So we gather here in Bethlehem
    On this silent, Holy night.

    Great Jehovah, You once breathed out
    One small breath and formed the sky,
    Now You lie here in a stable,
    Lowly shepherds standing by.

    We have waited so long for you
    Clung with hope to promises
    That You’d show up to redeem us
    Litle Lamb that’s Heaven sent.

  2. leeleegirl4 permalink
    December 25, 2011 9:29 am

    Great post. I am also a fan of that Relient K song that reminds us that Christmas is only the first step in the journey to the Cross and eternal redemption.

Leave a Reply

