Skip to content

The Sidewalks of New York

January 7, 2012

It’s really, really early in the morning here in NYC, and I need to go to bed so that I can be fresh and shiny for the 12 crazy hours of BroNYCon to come tomorrow, but since I’ll be otherwise occupied from 10 AM to 10 PM (and probably beyond) later today, I figured that now was as good a time as any to take care of my Saturday post.  So, without further ado, here are a few brand new things that I learned on this particularly adventurous Friday.

1.) Flying is absolutely amazing.  I mean, I’d always just assumed that being in an airplane would be a fantastic experience, but that is a serious underestimation.  Watching the ground sink away beneath you until it looks like the whole world is spread out in miniature below you is beyond exhilarating, and the final approach into New York City afforded us a truly breathtaking aerial view of the Atlantic Ocean.  I’ll be sad to leave all of this greatness on Sunday, but I can’t deny that I will be excited to fly again.

2.) New York is way, way different from Chicago.  I thought that just because I’ve lived in Chicago for a year I knew how the whole big city thing worked.  Not so.  New York is bigger than Chicago, which is mind-boggling to me, and everything here lights up.  Seriously, billboards, McDonald’s signs, random lights on buildings, everything is just always blinking and glowing.  It’s kind of weird.

3.) Bronies are just as nice in real life as they are on the Internet.  Seriously folks, these are some of the most friendly and upbeat people you could ever hope to meet.  Just hanging out with the people who came in to the hotel tonight was a really neat experience, and I can’t wait to see what it’s going to be like tomorrow when there are hundreds of us enjoying the epic convention together.

4.) This shirt is possibly the greatest shirt ever.  I never realized when I saw it online, but when I saw one today I discovered that not only does it have the hilarious picture of Pinkie Pie popping out of a blue Aperture Science Portal on the front, the back bears a picture of the orange portal with her back legs sticking out.  I need one of these.  Also one of the “ALL SHALL LOVE ME AND DESPAIR” Luna shirts, but that really goes without saying.

5.) Hotel lobbies at 2:44 AM are like the official drunk people hang out.  Yikes.  I think I’m going to get back to my room now before that lady over there tips all the way over and pins my backpack to the bench.  Goodnight, and have an excellent Saturday wherever you may be, my friends!  Tim out.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tim's Dad permalink
    January 9, 2012 10:02 am

    Ever since my very first flight experience in high school, I have always loved to fly! The moment when the wheels lift off the ground and you know you are airborne never ceases to be a thrill, no matter how many times you have experienced it! Some day I would love to own a power parachute (if I can ever afford one). If I realize my dream I will make sure it is a two-seater and you and I will fly with no walls around us! 🙂

Leave a Reply

