Skip to content

Living the Gospel

May 5, 2012

The gospel means everything to me.  It means that even though I’m hopelessly flawed, there is forgiveness.  It means that even though I deserve to die, I can be fully alive.  It means that even though I’ve hurt God, He loves me more than anything.  It means that even though I can’t earn my own redemption, He gives it to me for free because He took the cost upon Himself.  It’s the reason why I live the way that I do, the one belief that serves as a foundation for all others.  But above all, it means that I’m not just responsible for myself anymore.  I want other people to know what the gospel means for them, too, how it changes everything, and since I’ve identified myself with the gospel, since I’ve claimed that it’s so important to me, the way that I live is going to change the way that they see the gospel.

If I say that the gospel is about selfless love and then live my life as if I’m the only thing that matters in the world, I’m not just making a liar and a fake of myself, I’m making God look like a liar and a fake, too.  If I claim that the gospel means everything to me and then discard it when standing up for my faith becomes inconvenient or uncomfortable, I’m not just being a hypocrite, I’m broadcasting to the world that, when it comes down to it, the gospel doesn’t mean anything after all.  In the end, the question of “what does the gospel mean to you?” is one that I must answer not with words, but with action.

So what are people learning about the gospel from the way that I live?  I know I’m not perfect, that I won’t always succeed in representing God accurately, but I want to do my best.  I want mine to be the kind of life that makes God look as great as He is and following Him as fulfilling as I know it to be.  That’s what the world needs: more people who claim the name of God not for power or fame or security, but because they love Him and they want other people to love Him, too.  That’s what living the gospel means to me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2012 7:35 pm

    I agree, there are times when people tend to forget that we reflect Christ by the way we live.

Trackbacks

  1. Biting Off Less Than I Can Chew | Resting in His Grace

Leave a Reply

