Skip to content

Adventures in Columbus 1: The Introduction

July 24, 2012

So this was supposed to be it, the week that everything at Singular Spectrum went back to business as usual,  but then my brother Jonathan, a second cook at Lake Ann Camp, up and left his post to attend a week of camp so he could make amazing memories or learn about God or some other lame excuse. This left a gaping hole in Lake Ann’s kitchen staff, but since Adam B. was one of the second cooks last year he decided to up and leave his post at Singular Spectrum to take Jonathan’s place and help keep the camp running and feed all of the kids who are there to make amazing memories/learn about God/make lame excuses. So while the Adams are selfishly giving an enormous amount of time and energy with very little monetary return to help keep an incredible ministry running smoothly, I am left alone here to complete the noble task of typing words on the Internet so that you folks can then read them. No, no, I’m not a hero, I’m just doing my duty.

Anyway, silliness aside, while we wait for our Adams to return to us from the greatest place on earth, I’ll be holding down the fort here with a short series of posts about an adventure that I undertook last weekend in which I visited Columbus, Ohio and attended a convention for My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic fans (a.k.a. “bronies”) called TrotCon. You may might ask me, “Tim, I don’t watch MLP:FiM, so why would I want to read about you going to a convention for people who do?” If you did, I would reply, “Because, good reader, while the convention was geared toward bronies, the posts that I write about my experiences there will be geared toward everyone and deal with themes and musings that are common to all humanity, not just those who like a particularly excellent cartoon. Also because some of the stories are funny and I am told that people like funny things.”

So stay tuned to Singular Spectrum this week, as I’ll be updating every evening from Wednesday all the way through Saturday with new posts for you to enjoy, and be sure to have an excellent Tuesday evening – even if you read this on a different day of the week. Don’t question it, just do it. Trust me, it’s fun.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

