Skip to content

I’m Alive! -A Surprise Post (Part 1)

July 24, 2012

I had a couple hours to spare and decided to write a surprise post on my life currently and the future. I have not forgotten about you, dear reader, and I will continue to periodically surprise post every other forever or something like that.

Anyways, as you know, I am working at Lake Ann Camp, the place where God called me to be this summer. I have been having a blast and have been learning incredible amounts. For those of you who don’t know, I originally came to work at the camp to be the assistant cleaning supervisor. That ended almost three weeks ago. Since then I have been promoted to the official cleaning supervisor and what a great promotion that has been! God has continually stretched me and continues to make me who I am to be. 

As a supervisor, I have been given the opportunity to lead. I have always been known as a sort of leader, but only when necessary. Often, my role of leadership falls to the back when other leaders are present. I am perfectly comfortable with being a follower and encouraging others to follow the person who has stepped up as being the leader. However, this summer has pushed me far beyond just being a follower when it comes to my job. Obviously, since I am a supervisor, I have to lead. In having to lead, I have been pushed out side of my comfort zone. 

I am not confrontational. I also strongly dislike telling people how to do their job better. Guess what two things are absolutely necessary in being a supervisor who works with 15 and 16 year olds? You guessed it.. Both of those things. 

It’s so easy for me to “help” my crew out by redoing what they should have already done well, but I am learning that that is not grace. That isn’t actually helping them, but rather keeping them from reaching their full potential. That has been incredibly challenging for me. And at first, I didn’t like it. 

That however, is not all I have been going through. 

But that is for another random and unscheduled surprise post.

DUN DUN DUN.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

