Skip to content

I’m Alive! -A Surprise Post (Part 2) (Also titled, “It Is Incredible to Be Used By God, Even When You Are Weak and Inadequate.”)

September 7, 2012

I told you I’d be back.

Okay, so let’s begin.

So this summer, as you know, God led me in a different direction than I was originally thinking I would go. As He seems to like to do a lot, God blew my mind. If I hadn’t been at camp this summer, I wouldn’t have had the opportunity that I did.

Around the second week of camp the junior high program assistant, Kelsey, approached me with an opportunity that would quickly become the greatest opportunity that has yet been handed to me. As it was, the junior high program holds purity nights for the junior high campers on Wednesdays. The guys have a “Man Night” where the program director just rocked the worlds of almost every guy in junior high (and anybody in attendance for that matter.) He challenged them with the Word of God to be men of God. The girl side of the program held a purity panel. Earlier in the day, the girls would write down questions to be asked and answered by three men on a panel later that night.

When I was approached by Kelsey, she asked me to be on the panel in order to fill the place of one of the panel members that wouldn’t be able to make it. I, of course, said yes. To say I was nervous was an understatement. I had never been on a panel, let alone a panel answering questions about relationships, modesty, and purity. It was terrifying. That night, God blew me away. I answered the questions with awkward, prayer-filled answers, but God decided to use me anyways. Apparently Kelsey liked what I had to say and she invited me to do it the rest of the summer. Each week, the girl’s seem to be receiving the opinions with gracious and ready-to-learn hearts. But that wasn’t the best part.

At the end of the time we were given, Kelsey gave us each an opportunity to say whatever we want to the girls. This was the best part; this was why I was at camp.

Each week I was given the opportunity to tell girls that they were beautiful.

Each week I was given the opportunity to tell girls that they were NOT JUNK.

Each week I was given the opportunity to tell girls that they were made exactly how God wanted them to be made.

Each week I was given the opportunity to tell girls that they were precious treasures valued by God.

Each week I was given the opportunity to tell girls things they needed to hear and things I had wanted to say for a long time, but had never gotten the opportunity outside of Twitter.

Each week I was given the opportunity to tell girls that they were loved by a God who saw them worth the pain of sending His son to die for them.

Each week I was given the opportunity to tell girls that they were worth dying for.

It was literally the best part of my week and my summer.

To have girls, campers and counselors alike, come up to me and say that I had changed some of their views was one of the most humbling things in my life. There were girls that told me that I had changed their lives, that I had shown them their beauty. One counselor even told me that her campers each said they wanted a guy like me when they were ready to get married. Words cannot do justice to the gratitude I have towards my awesome God, who gave me the opportunity and the words to bring to light things that I needed to say and girls everywhere needed to hear.

God is good, all the time. He chooses to use us, the weaklings that mess up daily, time after time, because He loves us. You are inadequate, but your God is not. Let Him use you, and it will be the best decision of your life.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

