Skip to content

Singular Perspectives: This Summer

September 23, 2012

“And we’re back.”

This summer brought new challenges, new people, and a new job. This summer I left the comfort of the kitchen at Lake Ann Camp, to lead a small group of fearless teenagers into the raging war against dirty bathrooms. I started as the assistant cleaning supervisor, but was quickly promoted to official supervisor when the former supervisor was moved to another job and responsibility. It certainly brought challenges, but it was certainly worth it. I was given opportunity to invest in God’s people. I was given opportunity to speak to junior high girls on purity and beauty. For me, this summer was a beautiful piece of artwork created with the paintbrush of God’s sovereignty.  God was good this summer, just as He always is. No matter what.

–Adam Swensen

The past two summers of my life I spent working at Lake Ann Camp, where I met Tim and Adam. It’s not something I regret in any way–to the contrary, those were two of the best summers of my life–but this summer needed to be different. The first summer I worked at Lake Ann was a huge deal for me; I had spent the past 18 years of my life basically living in one place with one set of people, and everything about spending a summer away from home was profoundly outside of my comfort zone. I learned more about myself in that summer than I had in years. By comparison, the next summer was almost routine. It had its challenges and differences, but I knew basically what to expect. This summer, I knew I needed to do something radically different, and that radical choice turned out to be the simplest one I could make: this summer, I stayed home.

–Adam Beckmeyer

I spent this summer drowning myself. Not the water-in-the-lungs kind that drains the life from your body, but the kind that drains the meaning from your life. Nobody forced my head under, I just got scared of the conflict that would make story worth telling and took the easy way out, fooled myself into staying down until the urge to be more was all but stamped out.
It’s not a pretty story, but it’s the truth, and admitting that is better than pretending it isn’t really all that bad, much in the same way that expelling water from your lungs is better than breathing more in.
Maybe some of you are drowning, too. I hope my post later this week will encourage you to lift up your head, take the lifeguard’s hand, and begin to breathe again. There’s a whole life waiting for you on the shore – it’s time you started living it.

–Tim Newton

One Comment leave one →
  1. Aliee permalink
    September 23, 2012 5:47 pm

    Oh yaaay! You guys are baaaack! 😀

    I’m looking forward to more of your posts! The Adams sound like they each had, as Adam B. called it, “radical” summers.

    And I also want to know what happened to Tim. Sounds kinda like how my life has been so I guess that’s why I’m curious…

Leave a Reply

