Skip to content

Spectrum Perspectives: Singular Spectrum, This Year

October 1, 2012

Last week we gave you guys an update on what we had been doing for the summer. This week, we thought we would talk a little bit about our vision for Singular Spectrum and the way it fits into God’s plan for our lives right now. We also would love to hear from you guys about what you’d like to see from the blog. In fact, we’d love to just hear from you, the readers, in general. Post a comment: let us know what you’ve been doing the past few months, and let us know what you’d like to see us do with this blog.

Thanks,

– The Singular Spectrum Staff


I’ve said several times throughout the existence of this blog that the primary reason I write is that I can’t help but do otherwise; there are words inside of me that have to spill out somewhere, and if somebody on the internet finds some value in what I’d be writing anyway, it’s so much the better.

I don’t know when exactly it happened, but at some point last year I realized that people did find value in at least some of my posts. I realized that I do, at times, have an effect on people’s lives through the seemingly trivial act of just writing down my thoughts. It follows, that I now carry responsibility for what I write. That’s not always a comfortable feeling for me, but at the same time it’s something in which I rejoice.

This year, I’d like to do a better job of knowing our readers. I want to hear your stories just as you hear mine. In the comments below, let us know: who are you? What kind of things do you like? What brings you to Singular Spectrum, and how can we better serve you through this little corner of the internet for which we are the caretakers? I want to hear from you. We all do.

– Adam B

When we started Singular Spectrum, it was a way to keep in touch with two of my best friends. They fled to the far corners of the country and it seemed like a good way to keep the distance from coming between us. What began as a simple experiment with three friends, however, has grown into something more, and now we have almost 90 registered followers keeping up with our assorted ramblings and musings. And as the Spectrum has expanded to include you, my friends, so too has my vision for it. Now, I’m not just here to shoot words back and forth to the Adams. I’m here for you guys, to tell you about what’s important to me and to discuss what’s important to you, to hopefully encourage you with my writing as much as you all encourage me by reading and supporting the crazy endeavor of three friends out to glorify God and write about things that matter. So thank you so much for joining us and making this blog something greater than I ever expected it to be. I’m looking forward to spending more time with you.

– Tim Newton

Well, it’s been over a year since we started this blog. We started it as an experiment. And so far it’s been a great one. It’s been a little rough at times, and I apologize for that. But it’s been great. In the next year I would like to see us grow more, as a trio, writers, in readers, and most importantly; spiritually. I think in this last year we have already grown so much, and I can’t wait to see what is in store for this next year. My purpose in this blog is to emphasize the Gospel, Jesus, hope, love, and faith. I want to continue to challenge our readers to grow, as I grow. Because you, as the readers, are in it with us. I pray this blog continues to challenge and grow each and every one of us. God is good all the time. Let the next part of this adventure begin.

– Adam Swensen

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonypony permalink
    October 1, 2012 2:13 pm

    As a response to Adam B’s blurb:
    Yo. I’m a sophomore studying Computer Science at some university. I was raised in a Christian household, but have plenty of close friends who weren’t or have shifted their focus elsewhere. I tend to like anything that combines art with engineering, or that causes me to question what I’ve been taught, thereby strengthening my beliefs.
    As far as my own goals go, I’m generally happy doing anything as long as the people around me enjoy their job as well. More specifically, I’m interested in either animation or toy design. Such interests led me to Tim’s old blog (yay ponies), and when the three of you started this one I decided to -lurk-stick around.
    Your posts are like little presents in my inbox, so uh, just keep posting about stuff that matters to you, I suppose.

    • October 6, 2012 7:04 pm

      So glad to hear that you transferred over from the ol’ Author’s Apprentice and decided to stick around! I always smile a little wider when I see someone (or should I say “somepony”, Brohoof) come out of the shadows and comment for the first time. Don’t be shy, we’d love to hear more from you, my friend!

  2. Aliee permalink
    October 2, 2012 12:03 pm

    Hello, of course I’m Aliee, and I’m just a young person who is trying to get into college to become a elementary teacher. What brought me here was (long story coming) I have always loved cartoons. When I got into ponies, I was posting them all over my deviantart page and was looking for pictures of Pinkie Pie on bing. I saw that the title of a blog page was “Pinkie Pie Christians” and, because I have a curious mind, I HAD to read it. My mind was blown to the fact that someone else out there could take a cartoon (like I have always done) and make it an object lesson to teach a rather serious lesson; and I LOVED that. I started reading more and more and started following on here. Please, keep posting about your lives and your thoughts. Please continue to open up to what God is doing in your lives. It always encourages me to see three young men who are passionate about the Lord in a blatantly sin-drenched era. I have learned so much from your example already.

    How the Lord works in almost humorous ways sometimes…I was brought here because of ponies and stuck around because of a mutual love for God.

    • October 6, 2012 7:11 pm

      That is so fantastic how God works the craziest circumstances together to bless His kids. I actually met one of my best friends when he stumbled on my old blog looking for ponies and we struck up a conversation in the comments, so it’s uplifting to see history repeating itself with another sibling in Christ. ^_^
      Thanks so much for all of your encouraging comments, Aliee, they really make my day. You’ve got such a friendly spirit. God’s going to use in you in big ways as a teacher, sister.

  3. October 6, 2012 4:24 pm

    When I read the question above, “What brings you to Singular Spectrum?”, the first thought which came to my head was a quote from a favorite film of mine.

    “We read to know that we are not alone.”
    ~William Nicholson

    That’s really why I’m here; I want to know that there are others out there in the world who desire to know and love Jesus Christ and to live boldly for Him.

    Please do keep writing. Tell us what you’ve been learning, how your view of God has grown, how your understanding of Him and how to live has deepened, or something funny that happened at the breakfast table yesterday. It’s all life, and I’d love to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

