Skip to content

Peace

December 25, 2012

Here we are at last, Christmas Day. Every year I come to this holiday a different person than when we last met, and every year it holds a slightly different meaning for me. This year more than ever before, Christmas to me means peace. We live in a world of chaos, from the little everyday moments that invade our lives and steal our peace a minute at a time to the massive outpourings that shake us all to the core and threaten to drown out peace forever in their cacophony. We all long for peace, a respite from all the things that are beyond our control or that we’ve allowed to escape our grasp, from our regrets and our worries and our fear. Christmas is about the moment when peace arrived in a chaotic world, a baby who would grow up to stand between His family and the fear that would bury them. It’s that peace, that refuge that I’m thankful for the most this Christmas, and that I’m so glad to enjoy as I spend a day off with my family, giving and receiving our this and that and basking in the love behind it all. At home, at peace, at rest. Wherever you find yourself this Christmas, whoever you’re with, I hope you have that peace as well, my friend. We all need it.

Before you go, take a moment to enjoy two exquisite Christmas songs about peace: Casting Crowns’ stunning cover of the ancient carol “I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day” and Jars of Clay’s moving original composition “Peace is Here“.

Peace on Earth, goodwill to men – Merry Christmas.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

