Skip to content

Spectrum Perspectives: Spiders

October 21, 2013

kristinfaceI adore spiders. They fascinate me. Even as a kid, I was never scared of them (I reserve all my fear for truly evil things like millipedes and silverfish). I used to play with Daddy-Longlegs by seeing how many I could keep walking around on me at the same time, and for that I must apologize to my mother who desperately wanted her only girl to be at least a little girly. Also, it should be noted that the spider commonly known as Daddy-Longlegs are not, in fact, spiders. Which is why my later post will not be about Daddy-Longlegs. Even though they are wonderful and make great childhood friends.

-Kristin (Tuesday)

spiny AndrewI am a huge fan of J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series, so when we decided to do a week on spiders I of course thought immediately of the giant spiders in those books. I decided to take a look at the spiders in Harry Potter, specifically Aragog, the biggest and baddest of them all, and try to point out some of the symbolism and lessons that we can take from their place in the story.
Spoiler Alert! If you have not read all of the Harry Potter books, my post has major spoilers for book 2, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, and minor spoilers for book 6, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.

-Andrew (Friday)

I have a ropeIn this space, I suppose I have to apologize. This post was to go up on Sunday, but I was distracted. I will attempt to not let it happen again.

I like spiders, but I don’t have a ton to say about them. Instead, this week, I decided to let spiders speak for themselves. They’re some of the most interesting creatures on this planet, so in my post I present several facts you may not have known about spiders. My hope is that you’ll find that spiders aren’t so different from you and me.

-Adam B. (Wednesday)

vanessawpI don’t remember much from my early childhood, I guess I deleted the unimportant things. But one of the few things I do remember just happens to be about a spider. When I was little, I was terrified of spiders. But now I’m not. I don’t know what changed but I’m glad it did. I think my life would be very different if I was still afraid of the same things I was afraid of as a child.

I don’t have a lot to say on this topic but I will share a short story about an experience I had when I was very young about a seemingly-all-powerful, absolutely-frightening, three-millimeter spider.

-Vanessa (Thursday)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

